Royal Calcutta Turf Club

Follow Us
Kolkata,21 MayCloudy 29°C
Weather Forecast



Guide to BettingGuide to Betting

(Under R. C. T. C. Totalisator Rules)


For your convenience

This manual is designed entirely for your convenience, to help you along in the busy bustling world of Win, Place, Second Horse Pool, Quinella, Tanala, Jackpot and Treble and to make your visit to The Calcutta race Course more enjoyable.


Bookmaker or Totalisator?

For a first timer, the Totalisator offers more of a choice than a bet with the Bookmaker. It presents you with a host of different ways in which you can invest your money, with the hope that you will get something in return.


A Minimum of Rs 10

Remember that the minimum bet on any race at the Totalisator is Rs. 10/- and all dividends are paid out on the assumption that your investment is that sum.


The Rules

Win: When you ask for a Win Ticket on say, Horse No. 1 in a race, you stand to collect only if your designated horse wins the race.


Place: When you ask for a Place Ticket on any designated horse in a race, then the horse has to finish 1st, 2nd or 3rd (provided there are seven or more runners in the race) for you to receive dividends. If the number of horses is less than seven, then the Place Dividend is payable on the horses that finish 1st and 2nd only.


Second Horse Pool (SHP): When you ask for a SHP ticket on any designated horse in a race, the horse has to finish second. The Pool will operate only if there are four or more runners in the race.


Quinella: A Quinella means you have to nominate the horses that finish 1st and 2nd in a race, irrespectively of the order. Thus you could buy a quinella ticket on the combination, Horses No. 1 and Horses No. 2. For you to reap rewards, 1 and 2 would have to be the first two horses to pass the winning post.


Tanala: On the same principle as the Quinella, but here you have to nominate the first three horses in a race, in the correct order. Thus, if you purchase a ticket for Rs. 10/- which says Horse No. 3, Horse No. 2 and Horse No. 1, then those horses must finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd, in that order. Alternatively, you can spend Rs. 60/- and ask for a Tanala Box with the same numbers mentioned above, which means you collect as long as all three horses finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd.


The Jackpot: To win the Jackpot, you have to nominate the winners of the 5 selected jackpot races and you have to make your nominations before the start of the first of the five selected races. If your nomination sees you through the first four selected races, you are entitled to a consolation dividend, even if your fifth nomination does not win.


The Treble: To win the Treble you have to nominate winners of the three selected Treble races before the start of the first nominated Treble Pool Race.